Note: this site has moved to

Theory Group

The theory group consists of ten faculty members (including four adjuncts) who use mathematical techniques to study problems throughout computer science. We work on network algorithms, combinatorial optimization, computational geometry, data streams, dynamic algorithms and complexity, model checking and static analysis, database theory, descriptive complexity, parallel algorithms and architectures, and computational complexity theory. Members of the theory group wear other hats as well and collaborate throughout the department and the world beyond. For more details of the myriad work going on, please visit our web-pages.


David A. Mix Barrington (computational complexity, particularly boolean circuits, automata, logic)
Neil Immerman (descriptive complexity, logic, static analysis, database theory)
Andrew McGregor (algorithms, data streams, sketching, communication complexity)
Robbie Moll (combinatorial optimization, automated learning)
Barna Saha (algorithms, probabilistic method, combinatorial optimization, data management)
Ramesh Sitaraman (parallel and distributed systems, communication networks)

Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

Cathy McGeoch (Amherst College, experimental analysis of algorithms)
Lyle McGeoch (Amherst College, approximation algorithms, online algorithms, dynamic graph algorithms)
Ileana Streinu (Smith College, computational geometry)
Mikkel Thorup (University of Copenhagen, algorithms and data structures)

Theory Graduate Students

Md. Ashraful Alam
John Bowers
Cibele Freire
Vimal Matthew
David Tench
Sofya Vorotnikova
Hoa Vu

Theory Alumni

Michael Crouch (Bell Labs, Ireland)
Suprakash Datta (Assistant Professor, York University, Canada)
Kousha Etessami (University of Edinburgh)
Li-Xin Gao (Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, UMass Amherst)
Brent Heeringa (Williams College)
William Hesse (Google)
Kamal Kasera (Goldman Sachs)
Audrey Lee-St. John (Assistant Professor, Computer Science Department, Mt. Holyoke College)
Chi-Jen Lu (Associate Research Fellow, Institute of Information Science, Taiwan)
J. Antonio Medina (Morgan Stanley)
Sushant Patnaik (Wachovia Securities)
Vittorio Scarano (Associate Professor, Universita di Salerno, Italy)
Michael Sindelar (Google)
Shashi Shekhar Singh (Bloomberg)
Siddharth Srivastava, (University of California, Berkeley)
Daniel Stubbs, (Stanford University)
Louis Theran;, (Freie Universität Berlin)
Harish Venkataramani (Google)
Philipp Weis, (Google)